I finally stepped back into the 10 man raiding arena this week while my guild was attempting Alysrazor. (After a much needed break).

I will admit, that Blizzard was rather creative with the encounter in and of itself, and I found the fight to be rather refreshing. The fight is complex, and busy, but not obnoxiously so.

We brought in three healers (Discipline Priest, Restoration Druid, and Restoration Shaman), our DPS (Frost Mage, Feral Druid, Fury Warrior, Survival Hunter and one other), and our two favorite tanks (Protection Paladin and Warrior).

As a Discipline Priest I was assigned to keep our Protection Warrior alive, occasionally assisting on raid as needed. (Transitions, and dropping barrier). I’m finding that the glyphed barrier is amazing on this fight. Phase 1 where people take a touch of damage, the additional 10% healing provided to all under the barrier doubled with a round of Prayer of Healing did wonders for getting the extra boost on raid heals where we needed it, at least during transitions (and when people stayed under the barrier, had a few issues with people dashing out too quickly, but I suppose that’s the nature of the barrier, some folks are afraid to stand in stuff, even when it’s good for them.)

I, unfortunately, struggled with the fire vortex portion of the fight. It took me a little longer than most to master the art of dodging firenados. Which resulted in some embarrassing moments for me, but once I figured it out, it was exceptionally easy. Our Restoration Shaman shared a link from Icy Veins which helped with dodging the vortexes. Once I mastered that strategy, the entire fight went much smoother for me. I strongly recommend that you take a look at the strategy that is provided.

The phase where Alysrazor is actually tanked was a little challenging. We did have an initial situation with stacking up, mainly a logistics issue, no point of reference on where to stack up resulting in some of us eating a well placed cleave. Our raid leader kindly put marks down for us (One for where the boss’ head was to go, and one for where we were going to stack up). Moving into that position part way through the ignition portion of the fight, made that transition go smoothly. Ensuring I had adequate time to be in position, prime an aegis on the tank, and then place barrier down for some additional healing for the raid.

In all, I feel the fight is definitely one that we will succeed in completing when our 10-man raid reconvenes next week.

 

