4.2 is almost on us, and there is quite a bit of hype involving some of the major changes that the patch is bringing us, and there is the requisite doom saying as well, I don’t project nerfs, but I do see a sizable number of discipline priests needing to revamp their healing style.

It seems that in the current patch we’re in bubble spamming is rather in vogue at the moment, and priests are utilizing their external regen cooldowns (innervate and Mana Tide Totem). Sadly, these things are getting hit rather hard with the good old Blizzard brand Nerfbat.

Innervate now grants an ally target 5% of his or her maximum mana over 10 seconds, but still grants 20% of the druid’s maximum mana over 10 seconds when self-cast.

for Druids, and for Shamans:

Mana Tide now grants 200% of the caster’s Spirit, down from 400%.

Potentially that could mean the loss of bubble spammers. They’ll either change their playstyle, or roll a different toon. I was a bubble spammer when it was viable to do so, it was effective and it did what I wanted it to do, when they changed Discipline, I adjusted my gear slightly and use it when the situation arises, but I find it more viable to use Prayer of Mending, Penance, and Inner Focus/Greater Heal combination, I’ve also been known to use renew when there is small amounts of damage that need to be topped up.

The really big thing that has me excited is the following:

All healing critical strikes now heal for 2 times a normal heal (+100%), up from 1.5 times a normal heal (+50%).

The potential of this amuses me to no end. This should potentially make us stronger main tank healers (I’ve been tank healing since I started raiding again on my priest). During my zip through the internet, someone mentioned that this buff would bring back more tank healing/jack of all trades type disc priests. With the bigger crit numbers we should be seeing larger Aegis, which means more absorb, especially off tanks. Though, I’ve been hearing through a few sources that this change is not really going to affect holy priests as much as the holy priests would like.

Well. We’ll see what 4.2 brings us. Until then, Happy Raiding!

