One thing I’ve noticed about end game raiders is we’ve always had a scale with with to measure one another up against. It’s been titles, gear score,  mounts, achievements, and gear ranking via WoW-Heroes. I hadn’t thought of WoW-Heroes until a friend of mine brought up how well geared my priest is.

That sort of got the wheels turning as to where I stood with my gear compared to others of my class,  faction, and even realm. I suppose it has something to do with e-peen, the need to be better than someone in some strange capacity. As I type this I’m currently sitting in Stormwind next to someone with the Dragonslayer title. I would absolutely kill to have that title, no pun intended. I do have my Defender of a Shattered World title, which I worked long and hard to earn. I was pretty excited that I was one of the first group of people to have the title. I was proud that I was there to help create and learn the strategies that ultimately got us the kills we needed.

Though, taking a look at WoW-Heroes I was pleasantly surprised to see that they were back up and running. Curiosity got the better of me and I had to look my character up. Looking at her, I noticed one glaring error which I promptly fixed. I then wondered where I stacked up against other Discipline Priests on both Horde and Alliance. To say I faired well would be an understatement, in both I’m in the top 10.

But then, a humbling thought is that you can have all the gear in the world, but that doesn’t mean that you’re going to be the best player in the game, no where near. In fact it takes a combination of skill, knowledge of your class and gear to be the ultimate priest healer, but sometimes looking at a site like WoW-Heroes is a bit of a self-esteem booster.

 

